The Blank Film

For Christmas I received a Pentax K1000 film camera from Levi, and when I opened the box I about had a heart attack. I was so excited, because I have always wanted to get into photography, and film is a timeless way to capture memories and beauty. I was visiting Vancouver for a week, and I had plenty of opportunities to take many pictures on my new film camera and learn how to use it. I fell in love with my camera instantly, and I was so excited for this first full roll of film. I left that week with about 16 of 24 pictures captured, so when I arrived home in Nebraska, I took a few shots of my sisters, their show choir competition, my crazy snuggle pup Mia, and views from my window in my room. Needless to say, I was beyond stoked for this roll of film and to see all the great shots and memories from it. I went to 3 different drugstores to get this roll developed, and I finally found a place that develops film on site. I dropped it off and waited patiently for the call to say my beautiful photos were developed. I got the call, and the guy on the other end said, “Um, this film you gave us is blank.” I about dropped the phone, but instead I said I would hurry over to check it out. I prayed that it was a mistake and the pictures would be recovered, but unfortunately the film was sitting on the counter, completely unrolled with not a single picture on it. All those memories over 3 weeks were gone.

I’m a bit of a perfectionist, and when it comes to learning new things I want to get it right the first time. I was especially excited about this new, creative feat I was taking on of photography, so to see the developed film was going to be the start of a new adventure for me. To see that nothing was on the roll of film broke my heart, and I got down more on myself for not doing something right than losing the photos. After unrolling the film completely and reflecting on that week in Vancouver, I realized that those memories weren’t gone, and gosh golly, I’m a human being and I make mistakes. There’s one more roll of film left to be shot on, and I’m looking forward to all the other rolls of film I will get to shoot on and everything I will learn along the way. In the meantime, I’ll be watching TONS of YouTube videos to learn how to load film correctly. Life’s road is really bumpy one, but with dear sweet friends and a lot of love and hope, there is more to be discovered and more beauty and wonder to be seen.

//Catherine//

Life is like a camera. Just focus on what’s important, capture the good times, develop from the negatives, and if things don’t turn out – take another shot.” -Unknown

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

