The Psalm 139 Project

Greetings you beautiful and wonderful folks! It’s currently sunny (no surprise) and hot outside my window from my dorm room, and boy does it ever look inviting! There’s nothing like a good book or music and some iced tea to make the soul sing!

I wanted to write a bit about this devotional I’m working through something which I call “The Psalm 139 Project”. I started on the first day of Lent and have journeyed through this chapter for a few weeks now. If you want to know more about Lent and how I’m participating in it, feel free to read my post “40 Days of Lent”.

Recently, I’ve been seeking to hear God speak to me in a new way through Scripture. So often it’s easy to get bogged down in the words of the Bible and the theology, and sometimes I just don’t understand what a verse or entire chapter is saying. I wanted to study the Bible in a new way, a way that I could connect with a verse or two that made sense to me. And the first thing I thought of: music! So I began my search for scripture in music, and I came across this beauty!

Psalm 139

It’s called “Psalm 139” by The Verses Project. Essentially a producer gathered a bunch of musicians together and had them write a song with two or three verses from Psalm 139, and the lyrics for each song are pure segments from Psalm 139. The verses are being sung! I instantly knew this is what I wanted to study.

This album is broken up into 10 parts, so I decided to stretch this study over 10 weeks, one song each week. I didn’t realize how hard it would be to study two or three verses for a whole week, but God meets me in whatever state I’m in and continues to speak to me every morning as I wake up and listen to His Word, read it, and meditate on it. It’s been an amazing little journey so far, and I’m looking forward to seeing what God has in store for the rest of The Psalm 139 Project.

Reading scripture is hard, especially if you’re reading something you don’t really want to hear or don’t understand. I encourage anyone who is trying to read God’s Word to give the time to Him; pray before and after so that the Holy Spirit might fill you with wisdom, peace, grace, and understanding. It’s beautiful when God reveals something new about His character or new about yourself to you through His Word. After all, He wrote it for His children to tell us all we need to know about Him and His love.

//Catherine//

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path” -Psalm 119:105

Leave a Reply

