Essential Oils

Why hello there! It’s been awhile since I’ve posted something, but now that school is done and SUMMER IS HERE!!!… I have been able to brainstorm some new blog ideas! So here’s one: essential oils.

What’s the big buzz about these little bottles of goodness? Maybe you’ve heard of lavender oil or peppermint oil or even grapefruit oil. There’s tons of information on the internet about these hidden gems, and I would like to share my small collection and love for these oils with you!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I remember when I was little my uncle introduced lavender oil to me. I couldn’t sleep very well, so he told me to put a drop on my finger and rub it into my temples and under my nose and it would put me right to sleep. Sure enough, it did! And 10 years later, it still works. Not only does lavender oil help with sleep, but I sometimes use it as my perfume for the day. It calms your body and also mixes well with lots of other oils!

Another oil I think is pretty great is tea tree oil. It’s one of the most versatile essential oils, because it’s used in everything from shampoo to lotion to helping get rid of infections and inflammation. I usually mix one drop of tea tree oil into my lotion before I apply it on my face in the morning to help fight breakouts and keep my skin moisturized.

A few days ago I decided to make my own bug spray with some essential oils, and it works great and smells wonderful too! It’s not sticky or smelly like the normal bug spray. I got the recipe from an online website that sells pure essential oils, Aura Cacia, and you can click the link here if you’re interested! The main oil is lemon eucalyptus, and it’s probably the coolest one I own so far!  I sometimes use it as perfume along with lavender oil.

The last oil in my collection is peppermint oil. It’s one of the only oils you can ingest, and it helps with indigestion and clearing your mind. This oil also has a ton of different uses! When applied on your skin it feels very cool and refreshing. I usually put a drop or two in my water bottle to give it a minty flavour, or I put it on my skin so open up my pores or forehead to help get rid of headaches. 

As for purchasing essential oils, there are tons of companies that sell different types for different prices. I haven’t looked into a lot of different brands, but one that I see quite often is doTERRA. The brand I have been faithful to is Aura Cacia, because it’s affordable and 100% pure oil. They also have a ton of different types of oils, so my collection just keeps expanding! If you’re interested in one of these oils or any other kinds, I encourage you to do some research and find something you like! It’s been a fun little adventure finding new ways to use natural products in every day life.

//Catherine//

“A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones” ~Psalms 17:22 

Leave a Reply

