Smoothie Bowl Bliss

After being home in Nebraska for a few days, I remembered what it was like to have delicious, healthy, and fun breakfasts! I’ve been wanting to try smoothie bowls, but I didn’t have a blender at university, so as soon as I got home I took the opportunity to make one. And then make one every day I was home!

The best part about smoothie bowls is that you can put basically anything you want in them! I found some recipes online to get me started, and one of my favourite bloggers, Ella Grace Denton, has a bunch of smoothie bowl recipes on her blog We Need to Live More. After looking at some of her recipes and others, I came to the conclusion that it’s best to use any kind of frozen fruit for the base, whether it’s blueberries, bananas, raspberries, or anything of the sort. Then a bit of yogurt adds a creamy consistency, and sometimes I’ll add lettuce or cucumber to get my veggies in for the morning. 

So in one little bowl of goodness you get fruits, veggies, grains, calcium, protein, and all sorts of healthy bits! It’s a pain to make breakfast sometimes, but if you have a blender of any kind, freeze some fruit and blend it all up to make a lovely smoothie bowl!

0001_25Build a Bowl

1. Frozen fruit

blueberries, strawberries, bananas (work the best), raspberries, acai

2. Extra fruit or vegetables

whatever you have lying around!

3. A spoon of greek yogurt 

favourite brands: Chobani, Fage, Oikos, Siggi’s

sometimes I put a spoon of protein powder and some milk to substitute

4. A little liquid (water, juice, milk, etc.) to get it moving

5. Blend it up!

6. Top it off!

granola, cereal, more fruit, chia seeds, any seeds!, nuts, honey, agave nectar

Enjoy, beautiful people!!

//Catherine//

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” ~Lewis Carroll

Leave a Reply

