New Hair, New Heart

I just turned 20, which was a big change, and I decided why not change things up even more! Sooooo… I chopped my hair!!! And the more I think about it, the more I realize what a journey it’s been rather than an impulsive decision and how God has actually moved and grooved through it all!

I’ve always had long hair. I think the last time I had “short” hair was when I was 4 or something and it was all growing. I’m also really bad about getting haircuts, so about every 6 months I walk into my hairdresser’s salon back home and say, “I need a trim; it’s about that time!” I’m also one of those people who’s a little too particular about her hair… I’ve always had anxiety about getting my hair cut, which is why I only get it done twice a year. My hair been a big part of me as I’ve grown up, and I really like it too! I feel blessed to have it and the colour it is and everything about it.

That’s when I realized it needed to go.

But honestly, I was too scared to let it go. I was really nervous to find a good hairdresser to change a part of me I really held on to, and I was getting tons of compliments on it, which made me feel so great. But God is so good; He really knows best. And He took my heart and attachment to my self image and turned it around. 

255A5183

I was walking to class one morning and super randomly I thought I should donate my hair. Nothing really triggered it, it just happened! I looked into the requirements to donate and I far exceeded them, so that was just the push I needed to cut it off. But I was more nervous about finding a hairdresser, because I have a bit of anxiety about getting hair cuts. So I put it off, and put it off even more. Then one day, I was given a recommendation of a hair salon and decided to just call already! It all happened so fast, but the crazy part was yet to come…

When I got to the hair salon, the lady who was going to cut my hair greeted me with so much enthusiasm, and when I told her I wanted to chop my hair and donate it, she was beyond stoked. Even more excited than me! Right after she cut off the ponytail of hair, we both gasped in excitement, and she said she was crazy excited to be a part of a big change in my life! I felt so at peace with my hair in her hands, and she was so passionate about cutting my hair and doing it well! We even had some real and genuine conversations about life and pursuing our passions. God blessed me with a lady who loves styling hair and is full of joy, which was just what I needed! And she loved that I was giving it to someone else who needs it more than I do.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetThat’s the most wonderful part; I get to share a piece of me with another gal out there who’s fighting cancer and pushing so hard to survive, and I admire that so much. I don’t know if I’ll ever meet the gal who gets my hair, but my prayer is that she is healed completely of cancer and she feels beautiful and wonderful and confident while journeying through this hard time. 

Rather than this being a story to say “just cut your hair; you won’t regret it”, my desire is for this to be a testimony of God’s goodness yet again through something so small as cutting off hair. I would’ve never thought that giving something of myself – my hair and my self-image – would change my heart so much. 

//Catherine//

“And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin” ~Matthew 6:28

Leave a Reply

