New Year Start

Sometimes crazy things happen. We’ve probably all experienced it. And when crazy things do happen there’s always seems to be a little spark of beauty that comes out of it.

So this post is dedicated to sharing a crazy thing that happened to me over my winter break this past year. Some of you may know this story, to others this will come  as a surprise to you. And even though this happened about 10 weeks ago, I want to share it with you all now that it’s become a part of my life.

Here it goes.

My family and I went up to Revelstoke, BC, to visit my uncle and hit the slopes. We skied for two days and it was wondrous! The third day of our trip we decided to take a ski break and do something different — snowmobiling.

Last year when my family and I went skiing in Whistler, we went snowmobiling and I drove my own for the first time, and it was so fun and easy! Of course I thought it would be exactly the same. Little did I know that this would be the point in the trip that I would never forget.

Basically, as I was driving with my sister, Anneke, on the back singing me sweet songs, I went to make a turn and panicked because the snowmobile was tipping more than usual. And the thing with snowmobiles is the throttle is attached to the handle bar, so once I panicked, I grabbed on to those handle bars like my life depended on it. The next thing I knew I was flying over a ditch and stuck in a snowbank.

I went to pull myself out of the ditch, and that’s when I knew…… my arm was broken.

My body immediately went into shock, and so did I. After awhile of trying to stay conscious and not throw up from the pain, I managed to get down from the mountain (thanks to my rad uncle!) and to the hospital to get an X-ray. Fast forward to that evening of December 29th, I’m in the car with my dad driving two hours back to Revelstoke from Vernon hospital after I couldn’t get in for surgery (yes, surgery, because that’s just how broken my arm was). By God’s grace I was able to get into surgery the next day, and that’s when I realized what really happened and how painful it was. It’s crazy how our bodies know what to do when something goes wrong and our brains temporarily shut off all the psychological stuff that comes with it.

The surgery went well, and I woke up on New Years Eve feeling super drugged up on morphine and other pain medication. I was discharged that morning and spent my New Years Eve on the couch completely drugged up on pain meds.

And that’s how my 2016 started.

Fast forward to now, 10 weeks later. My arm is plated with metal (no, it doesn’t set off the security alarms in the airport!), and I have a gnarly scar down most of my forearm. The first two weeks post-op was really hard physically. I didn’t realize how many things require two arms until I was unable to use one of mine. I got creative with little things like showering, brushing my teeth, putting on a belt, and opening a jar. I’ve had amazing support from so many people, both prayerfully and physically. God’s working in my arm and in my mind, too.

Because after the first two weeks, the psychological pain hit.

I started feeling self-conscious walking around campus as people stared at my missing arm hiding under my jacket and how I looked with a bulky sling and a big scar down my arm. I would get frustrated at myself for not being able to do the simplest things, and I thought I should be able to do everything I normally could with two arms. But when you only have one arm working, things are different. I needed a lot more patience and trust. So I prayed, a lot, for both of those things and healing. And every morning I would wake up and say, “God, this is me. I don’t know what I can do today, but whatever it may be, let it be glorifying to you.”

Some days I stayed in bed all day, some days I was able to live like I had two functioning arms. But no matter what the day was, God was still with me. And He’s still with me today and every day as my arm continues to heal. He was even there when it all happened. I’m still learning patience, because some days are harder than others. I don’t use a cast, a sling, or pain medication any more. I can move my arm, fingers, and wrist more each week. But most of all, my patience and trust has increased so much, thanks to God’s unending grace.

My 2016 didn’t start off with the biggest bang, but so far I’ve grown so much in who I am. And hey, I have a great story to share with all of you beautiful and wonderful people! Thanks for reading, and just remember that everything happens for a reason, it just takes the right perspective – God’s perspective – to see it just a little more clearly. And then His beauty, love, and grace just shines through everything.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

//Catherine//

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future'” ~Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

