Typography

Heeeyyy! So even though it’s raining cats and dogs here in vancity, spring is still approaching, and there’s small signs of it every day – like the cherry blossoms blooming and allergies kicking in! Haha.

It’s getting close to that time of year when things get a liiittle crazy. Exams are approaching and so is summer, and the world is a great big unknown. And for me, it’s been a bit of a rough season in my life, so rediscovering passions has been something on my heart.

Although I’m really into learning (especially about the brain), I also have discovered this artsy, creative side to me. In high school it came out primarily through music, and it still does to this day, but now I’m rediscovering my creativity in a new (and maybe slightly hipster way, lol) through typography.

I remember when I was young my dad gave me a calligraphy set for Christmas, and I was into it for about a week. Then I become frustrated and gave up. But now, it’s totally coming back and I wish I had the stuff with me! Because letter-writing, typography, calligraphy — call it what you will — is so fun! And it’s meaningful. It’s a new way to share good messages.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I think it’s really important to discover new things you love, or tap into old things you love and rediscover them. Typography has been a great outlet for me lately as I’m journeying through some tough life stuff, and it’s been a cool way to physically surround myself with truth when it seems like the words of the world are swallowing me up. So to keep track of all the little doodles I’ve done, I made an Instagram account dedicated to only typography! As suggested and inspired by a very dear friend of mine, I use the account to post pictures of my work and follow other typographists to be inspired and encouraged by theirs! And so if you’re really, really curious about the stuff I’m doodling, follow me at catherine_writes on Instagram. By NO means am I a pro, but honestly, who cares. It’s fun, and it’s really the words that count, not precisely how they’re presented. So wonderful friends…

Go do what you love and love what you do!

//Catherine//

“Let the beauty of what you love be what you do.” ~Rumi

Leave a Reply

